Slash action

The Spectrum

Grade: A-

After 27 years in the business, Slash has put out his first solo album. It is a well-known fact that Slash is one of the best in the game, and the vocals of the metal gods that accompany him cannot compare to the way Slash shreds.
A myriad of styles are represented on his self-titled debut. From a ‘90s alternative rock song entitled "Beautiful Dangerous," featuring Fergie, to Ozzy Osbourne's quasi-power ballad "Crucify the Dead," each track offers a different sound, accompanied by the legend himself.
Slash does not discriminate, as not every artist is extremely well known. Great examples of this are Myles Kennedy from Alter Bridge and Rocco DeLuca, featured in the song "Saint is a Sinner Too."
Only the worst critic would dare to compare Maroon 5 and Motorhead, yet both of their lead singers, Adam Levine and Lemmy Kilmister respectively, are featured on this album. Even though these two are usually musically worlds apart, they are unified through Slash's spectacular soloing and entrancing melodies.
Notable tracks include "Promise", featuring Chris Cornell of Soundgarden, and "Nothing to Say", featuring Avenged Sevenfold's lead singer M. Shadows. Both tracks stand out because not only are they lyrically enthralling, but Slash also perfectly complements the singers, making it seem as though this act was meant to happen.
Not everything is fast-paced on Slash's Slash, but for a compilation album with this many artists there is a lot to like. While some artists live up to their former eloquence, the Prince of Darkness, Mr. Osbourne, doesn't exactly deliver on this album.
Trumping Slash's Snakepit, with its multitude of artists, varying styles and face-melting solos, Slash is worth a listen.