Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Logo of The Spectrum
Tuesday, August 16, 2022
The independent student publication of The Unversity at Buffalo, since 1950

Jaret Patterson named Doak Walker Award semifinalist

Junior leads the nation in rushing yards per game, ranks third in rushing touchdowns

<p>UB running back Jaret Patterson was named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award Monday.</p>

UB running back Jaret Patterson was named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award Monday.

UB running back Jaret Patterson continues to garner national recognition during his record-breaking season.

On Monday, the junior was named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award, given annually to the nation’s top running back. Patterson is the first UB player to be named a semifinalist for the award.

Through four games, Patterson has rushed for 920 yards and 16 touchdowns. He also leads the nation in rushing yards per game, with 230. The junior’s 16 rushing touchdowns are good for third in the country.

Patterson rewrote the school and conference record books with his historic performance against Kent State. The Glendale, MD native ran for 409 yards and eight rushing touchdowns against the Golden Flashes. 

His 409 rushing yards are the second-highest single-game total in FBS history and his eight rushing touchdowns tied a single-game FBS record. Patterson also made history by rushing for a combined 710 yards and 12 touchdowns in the Bulls’ last two games, an FBS record over a two-game span.

Other Doak Walker Award semifinalists include:

Travis Etienne - Clemson

Breece Hall - Iowa State

Najee Harris - Alabama

Mo Ibrahim - Minnesota

Jermar Jefferson - Oregon State

Sincere McCormick - UTSA

Support your local paper
Donate Today
The Spectrum has been covering the University at Buffalo since 1950, your donation today could help #SaveStudentNewsrooms. Please consider giving today.

Isaiah Spiller - Texas A&M

Javonte Williams - North Carolina

Kyren Williams - Notre Dame

The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast its votes and determine three finalists. The finalists will be announced on Monday, Dec. 21. 

The committee will vote a final time to determine the 2020 award recipient, with the winner set to be named on Thursday, Jan. 2, 2021 on ESPN.

Anthony DeCicco is the Senior Sports Editor and can be reached at and on Twitter @DeCicco42

Studio Session-018 (1).jpg

Anthony DeCicco is the senior sports editor at The Spectrum. In his free time, he can be found playing video games, watching ‘90s Knicks games and arguing with people on NBA Twitter at 3 a.m. 



Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2022 The Spectrum