UB honors distinguished alumni

Twelve alumni received awards at annual ceremony


The university honored 12 distinguished alumni Friday at its annual Alumni Association Achievement Awards ceremony at the Center for the Arts. The ceremony recognizes alumni who made positive impacts on society and the UB community.

Stephen Still, a ’76 alum, received the night’s highest honor, the Samuel P. Capen Award, for his career of over 35 years consulting and managing transportation systems.

Still created an endowment at UB last year as a donation to the Boldly Buffalo Campaign. The endowment supports the Institute for Sustainable Transportation and Logistics, which works with the engineering and management schools to explore new methods of transportation, logistics and supply-chain management, according to the UB News Center. 

Charles Severin, a ’97 alum, won the Richard T. Sarkin Award for Excellence in Teaching. Severin is the associate dean for medical education and associate professor of anatomy in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Gale Burstein, a’90 alum, won the Community Leadership Award. Burstein is a clinical professor in the Department of Pediatrics, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and a research professor in UB's School of Public Health and Health Professions

Lawrence Castellani, former CEO of Tops Friendly Markets, won the Walter P. Cooke Award. 

University of Cincinnati professor Mark Schulz, an ’84 and ’93 alum, won the Clifford C. Furnas Memorial Award, recognizing his efforts in medical technology development. 

Joseph Hanna, a ’02 and ’05 alum, received the George W. Thorn Award for his work as a commercial litigator and legal adviser at local firm Goldberg Segalla. 

Terese Kelly, a ’68 and ’73 alum, received the Philip B. Wels Oustanding Service Award for starting a student-run investment group, the Terese Kelly Investment Group in 2011. 

Moeez Nakhoda, a ’91 alumni, won the International Distunguished Alumni Award, recognizing him for his endowment of the Amena and Hatim Nakhoda Family Scholarship, which has been awarded to 32 students since 2007. 

Distinguished Alumni recipients included ’05 alum Robert Davies, ’69 alumni Milton Ezrati, ’72 and ’88 alum Karen Maricle and ’71 alum Robert Noonan. 

Max Kalnitz is the senior news editor and can be reached at max.kalnitz@ubspectrum.com

and on Twitter @Max_Kalnitz