The Spectrum Logo

Time to listen after clicking ‘post’

11/20/15 12:15am | By Editorial Board

Perhaps the general population needs to be reminded what an opinion is – a belief or judgment produced on a ground insufficient to produce certainty. That means everyone is entitled to have his or her own opinions and it’s not necessarily right or wrong.

And an opinion is meant to change based on discussion and new information.


Tom Dinki

Danny White brought quick success, but future is questionable

11/20/15 12:05am | By Tom Dinki

A Mid-Major like UB needs to think long-term. Nothing is a quick fix. You have to slowly inch your way up the college athletics landscape. You don’t, as White always liked to say, build “America’s next big-time college athletics brand” in three years.

White could move up a conference and get a larger budget to play with in three years. UB cannot.


Letter to the editor

11/19/15 3:58pm

I had intended to keep my thoughts about the “Whites Only” signs to myself until I read the letter to the Spectrum by Jonathan D.


Dani Guglielmo

Justin Bieber’s purpose

11/18/15 2:54am | By DANI GUGLIELMO

Bieber released his fourth studio album Purpose on Nov. 13 as his first project of new music after a two-year break of “bad behavior” and the follow-up to his previous album Believe.


Letter to the editor

11/17/15 6:07pm

In a letter from a significant percentage of the faculty in Transnational Studies, I was helpfully informed that the undersigned, “support those students arguing that art cannot always be only for art’s sake...” I am only puzzled as to who might possibly be construed as having made that argument. Surely not me, as in fact my work, and the work of the vast majority of my colleagues is defined by an activist, progressive social practice: my work is queer, others here deal with racial, gendered, ethnic and/or economic inequity. No one here airs that tired bromide “art for arts” sake. On the contrary we are on aggregate one of the most socially engaged art departments in the US. Just look at our course schedule.


Letter to the editor

11/17/15 2:53pm

I write as a faculty member of the Department of Transnational Studies who has taught at the University at Buffalo for over seven years.


Letter to the editor

11/17/15 2:27pm

We the undersigned faculty members in the Department of Transnational Studies, home of African and African American Studies at UB, would like to raise our voices in support of the position taken by the Black Student Union on the issue of race relations at our university.


Creating a more trans-understanding environment

11/15/15 3:34pm | By TY ADAMS

Transgenderism: When a person’s self-identification doesn’t reflect the biological sex in which they were born and the gender norms that are commonly associated with that sex. We’ve seen the big faces on our TV screens, like Laverne Cox and Caitlyn Jenner, and we’ve heard their stories. But how much do we know about the trans-experience of the greater majority who don’t have the luxury of being a celebrity?



UB President Tripathi: UB committed to inclusive campus

11/15/15 3:30pm

I want to take this opportunity to say once again how vitally important I feel it is to foster a welcoming, safe and inclusive campus climate where all feel respected and valued. This is a core principle for our UB community. But together, we must understand that creating this environment requires constant commitment, dialogue and intellectual engagement on the part of all of us.



Starbucks' red cups should not define your Christmas

11/11/15 12:51am | By MARLEE TUSKES

Christmas has always been one of my favorite holidays. There’s a magical feeling that comes with the holiday season that doesn’t occur at any other time of year.

As someone who was raised in a Catholic household, for years I went to religious education where other kids and I learned about the history behind our religion, including the history of Christmas.

Not once did I learn that the true meaning of Christmas should be defined by how mega-corporations choose to advertise.


Letter to the editor

11/04/15 11:07pm

In reply to your article “The Buffalo News’ irresponsible coverage of the Heights must end.” I find the unprofessional ones are the Spectrum Editorial Board thinking they have a right to comment on another paper’s writing. Your staff has shown it is not capable of accurately reporting facts, misquoting almost every person you do interview, and additionally sending questions to interviewees via text message. You are students, remember that. You are still learning, and from the articles I have read this semester you need continue to go to class. You do not have the knowledge and the experience to tell professional journalist what is irresponsible. When you all get your paper in order, then, and only then can you even think about commenting on another paper.


Down and dirty

11/03/15 9:20pm | By GABRIELA JULIA

Get your workout playlist poppin’ and grab a yoga matt for an intense home workout that’ll leave you feeling sweaty and satisfied.


The end of Grantland and what the site meant to me as a sports writer

11/02/15 12:11am | By QUENTIN HAYNES

At 14 years old I decided I wanted to enter the world of sports journalism and spend the rest of my life covering sports at the highest levels. And Grantland, ESPN’s sports and pop-culture blog, has given me motivation to continue to pursue that goal and represented the pinnacle of sports writing.

So when ESPN announced on Friday that it was shutting down the site immediately after four years of production, I was crushed.