The Spectrum Logo

Is secrecy and corruption UB's new normal?

12/07/17 4:59am | By Editorial Board

For our final paper of 2017, we at The Spectrum want to reflect on our stories –– the stories we kept thinking about weeks after they left the shelf.

As student journalists, we look for trends. We try to understand the way the university works.

And we cannot ignore the recent trend of obfuscation and unanswered questions.

 read more >>

UB Bulls on the right track despite losses to Duke, Iowa State

12/08/15 4:33pm | By QUENTIN HAYNES

On paper, the results weren’t pretty for the Buffalo men’s basketball team last week.

The Bulls (4-5) have lost three in a row, including a closer-than-you-think game against No. 5 Duke and a first half back-and-forth affair against No. 2 Iowa State. Buffalo is now under .500 for the first time this season.

But if you watched the games, you saw the Bulls begin to make strides as they head into the final stretch of non-conference play.

 read more >>

Dani Guglielmo

The unusual Buffalo weather

12/06/15 11:11pm | By DANI GUGLIELMO

Being a senior, it’s weird to be in the month of December without Buffalo being covered in snow and the weather still reaching the 40’s and 50’s. It’s a beautiful thing to be able to still wear a trendy and lighter fall coat as opposed to my oversized, puffy and heavy winter jacket.

 read more >>

Marlee

I stand with Planned Parenthood

12/06/15 3:29pm | By MARLEE TUSKES

I was used to seeing the much-talked-about organization frequent the top-20 trending list, especially since it has been a common topic among the presidential candidate hopefuls. But I quickly went from nonchalantly scrolling through the tweets to reading in horror as I realized the enormity of the situation: a gunman was terrorizing a Planned Parenthood in Colorado Springs.

 read more >>

Oklahoma Wesleyan University President slams students for playing the victim

12/04/15 2:56am | By Editorial Board

The letter split our editorial board. Some of us, while disagreeing with his brashness, agree with Piper’s core argument that college is meant to challenge one’s ideas and beliefs. We also feel Piper, a white male, and presumably wealthy one at that as a university president, may not have the right to tell certain groups of people how to deal with oppression he has likely never faced.

 read more >>

Don't count out the champs

UB's Joe Licata is 'Buffalo Joe'

12/01/15 8:26pm | By Jordan Grossman

It’s fair to say there’s been little stability in the UB football program over the past few seasons. The Bulls have had a coaching change. They’ve seen the highs of a bowl game in 2013 and the lows of back-to-back five-win and bowlless seasons the past two years. But through it all there has been one constant – Joe Licata, a local high school quarterback who stayed local and shattered most of the passing records at UB.

 read more >>

Hillary Clinton is not a leftist

11/22/15 1:15pm | By RUSSELL GUILBAULT

Firstly, Clinton has firmly established herself as a neocon of the highest order over her career as Secretary of State. She supports a barrier in the West Bank, advocated recognizing Jerusalem as Israel’s capital and blamed Hamas for the destruction caused by Israel’s disproportionate assault on Gaza last year.

 read more >>

Letter to the editor

11/21/15 2:42pm

They were a wake-up call, and perhaps a demonstration of how far parts of our current society and culture have drifted from the turbulent struggles of the 1950s through 1970s. Struggles that were to have alleviated the prevalence of “White Only” and “Black Only” mentalities.

 read more >>

Time to listen after clicking ‘post’

11/20/15 12:15am | By Editorial Board

Perhaps the general population needs to be reminded what an opinion is – a belief or judgment produced on a ground insufficient to produce certainty. That means everyone is entitled to have his or her own opinions and it’s not necessarily right or wrong.

And an opinion is meant to change based on discussion and new information.

 read more >>

Tom Dinki

Danny White brought quick success, but future is questionable

11/20/15 12:05am | By Tom Dinki

A Mid-Major like UB needs to think long-term. Nothing is a quick fix. You have to slowly inch your way up the college athletics landscape. You don’t, as White always liked to say, build “America’s next big-time college athletics brand” in three years.

White could move up a conference and get a larger budget to play with in three years. UB cannot.

 read more >>

Letter to the editor

11/19/15 3:58pm

I had intended to keep my thoughts about the “Whites Only” signs to myself until I read the letter to the Spectrum by Jonathan D.

 read more >>

Dani Guglielmo

Justin Bieber’s purpose

11/18/15 2:54am | By DANI GUGLIELMO

Bieber released his fourth studio album Purpose on Nov. 13 as his first project of new music after a two-year break of “bad behavior” and the follow-up to his previous album Believe.

 read more >>

Letter to the editor

11/17/15 6:07pm

In a letter from a significant percentage of the faculty in Transnational Studies, I was helpfully informed that the undersigned, “support those students arguing that art cannot always be only for art’s sake...” I am only puzzled as to who might possibly be construed as having made that argument. Surely not me, as in fact my work, and the work of the vast majority of my colleagues is defined by an activist, progressive social practice: my work is queer, others here deal with racial, gendered, ethnic and/or economic inequity. No one here airs that tired bromide “art for arts” sake. On the contrary we are on aggregate one of the most socially engaged art departments in the US. Just look at our course schedule.

 read more >>

Letter to the editor

11/17/15 2:53pm

I write as a faculty member of the Department of Transnational Studies who has taught at the University at Buffalo for over seven years.

 read more >>

Letter to the editor

11/17/15 2:27pm

We the undersigned faculty members in the Department of Transnational Studies, home of African and African American Studies at UB, would like to raise our voices in support of the position taken by the Black Student Union on the issue of race relations at our university.

 read more >>

Creating a more trans-understanding environment

11/15/15 3:34pm | By TY ADAMS

Transgenderism: When a person’s self-identification doesn’t reflect the biological sex in which they were born and the gender norms that are commonly associated with that sex. We’ve seen the big faces on our TV screens, like Laverne Cox and Caitlyn Jenner, and we’ve heard their stories. But how much do we know about the trans-experience of the greater majority who don’t have the luxury of being a celebrity?

 read more >>