Top College News Subscribe to the Newsletter

Why Put a Bumper Sticker on a Ferrari?

Asst. News Editor

Published: Saturday, January 28, 2012

Updated: Monday, November 5, 2012 20:11

Lisa

Spectrum file photo

CLICK HERE TO READ COUNTERPOINT COLUMN

Do you want a tattoo and/or have one already?

View results

DISCLOSURE: THIS LINK WAS POSTED AT 4 p.m. ON 02/02/12


I get it. It's the 21st century. You're cool, you're rebellious, you're cutting edge, you have a point to prove, and you're a woman. Awesome.

Ladies, I know you're at least at the legal age of making your own decisions, but before you decide to get a tattoo, allow me to let you in on a little secret. A secret you may have not fully realized yet thus far in your life. What you must understand is, as women, we are – naturally – beautiful creatures.

Seriously, though. Your body literally has the ability to turn heads. Guys drool over us. We hold some serious power in our hands, because – as corny as this sounds – we hold the world's beauty.

But something girls seem to forget nowadays, or maybe have not been taught, is that women hold the world's class and elegance in their hands, as well. So what's more attractive than a girl with a nice body? I'll tell you what: a girl with class. Looks may not last, but class does. And so do tattoos.

An elegant woman does not vandalize the temple she has been blessed with as her body. She appreciates it. She flaunts it. She's not happy with it? She goes to the gym. She dresses it up in lavish, fun, trendy clothes, enjoying trips to the mall with her girlfriends. She accentuates her legs with high heels. She gets her nails done. She enjoys the finer things in life, all with the body she was blessed with.

But marking it up with ink? That's just not necessary.

I'm not here to say a girl should walk around flaunting her body like it's her job – that's just degrading. Instead of getting a tattoo, a more productive use of your time would be improving and appreciating the body you have been given, not permanently engraving it.

Can you get meaning out of a tattoo? Arguably. If you want to insert ink into your skin as a symbol for something greater than yourself, then maybe you are proving a point to yourself or the rest of the world.

But at the end of the day, are you really a happier person? Has this tattoo, for instance, caused you to learn something new about yourself? Has it challenged you? Has it led you to self-growth? Nothing comes out of getting a tattoo. You get a tattoo, and that's it. You do something productive, though, and you see results. That's a genuine, satisfying change in life. Not ink.

Invest your time, money, and effort into a gym membership, or yoga classes, or new clothes, or experimenting with different hairstyles if you're craving something new with your body, not a tattoo.

I promise, it will be a much more rewarding experience, and you won't find yourself in a rut when your future grandkids ask you what's up with the angel wings on your upper back as you're in the middle of giving them a life lesson on the importance of values and morals.

God knows the last thing this world needs is another generation of kids questioning their basic values and morals.

 

Email: lisa.khoury@ubspectrum.com

Recommended: Articles that may interest you

181 comments

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 18:08
SERIOUSLY THOUGH, I don't care if guys drool over me or not. I have a boyfriend who drools over me WHO ISN'T INTO TATTOOS! I get tattoos for ME. Not for him. and certainly not for judgmental girls who would rather bash other girls then get a deeper understand as to why PEOPLE get tattoos.
You CAN be classy and still have tattoos. Plenty of girls are a wonderful mix of feminine and masculine with tattoos. Also, some girls don't but that doesn't mean they aren't classy. What ISN'T classy is putting someone down for what they LIKE to do to their own body
I've invested money in gym memberships. I've taken yoga classes. I pretty much buy new clothes every few weeks or so. And I've been experimenting with my hair since I was 13 years old. But I can tell you nothing has made me feel better about myself than my tattoos.
My grandchildren will know about them and I will give a very detailed reason as to why I got each one of my tattoos because I have chosen them for specific reasons. They each have a special and deep meaning.

Conclusion: Just because your BEAUTY STANDARD is different than mine DOES NOT mean you can use these biased statements as actual critique.

Jenna P.
Thu Feb 2 2012 17:59
Why do you imply that people with tattoos don't have morals or values?
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 17:56
What an absurd load of rubbish!!
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 17:42
@Hang in there, Lisa:

Couldn't agree more.
Give the writer a break.
People talking trash while taking a high and mighty position apparently don't realize they are a contradiction, in and of themselves.

Hang in there, Lisa....
Thu Feb 2 2012 17:10
Lisa,

You don't know me, but I just wanted to say that I think you meant well in your opinion/counterpoint piece. Perhaps it was written in a hurry for a deadline; perhaps you didn't take time to check you writing for tone. Perhaps it is the worst thing you ever wrote, and you simply had no clue that you would strike a nerve with so many.

I am personally astounded at the vitriol that has spewed about a topic that, frankly, doesn't matter at all. Most who have posted here have shown that they are self-absorbed defenders of tattoo art. If they have one tattoo or many, you aren't allowed to tread on their sacred ground and comment, apparently.

You probably have realized by now that it was the judgmental way in which you lodged your opinion that is the problem. Nobody likes to be judged by another, even though everybody is guilty of it to some extent, even if they try not to be. Your opinion of what women "should" do is your opinion, but by now you must realize that generations of women before you have fought the fight of feminism because of the constant sexual objectification that has held them back in careers and just about everything else. So, your suggestion that women pretty themselves up for men offends those who believe a woman's worth should not be measured by looks alone.

Tattoos aren't feminist, as some have asserted. They don't equal the playing field. They are simply a choice, albeit a hot social trend that has a lemming-like following. People will defend the choices they make, even if in an unfortunately misguided fashion, as shown here. It stems from insecurity, mostly, about the fact that someone has an opinion different from their own, about a personal choice they have made, and that it was done so in a public forum.

Everybody makes mistakes from time to time. You've made one here, according to the consensus of mostly the tatted. People make mistakes--big deal. They learn from them, as I expect you will from this experience. The reactions are entirely overblown, so keep that in mind. Such is the nature of the social media beast. Those who are attacking you personally should be ashamed. If they take issue with what you have written, that's fine, but they prove themselves to be extremely classless when they make it personal.

Learn from the experience, move on. While this reaction to your writing is devastating now, the venomous posts of hundreds of strangers who like to dish it out (but would probably shrivel under such a personal attack were it directed at them) do not matter.

It matters not whether I agree or disagree with you article. Just know that those who are posting garbage in an attempt to demoralize and punish (as opposed to simply posting their disagreement in polite fashion) are fools. Be strong.

Jordann
Thu Feb 2 2012 16:14
I have three tattoos, they all mean something important to me. Especially one I have that's partly a breast cancer ribbon in honor of my grandmother who battled breast cancer. So yes, it makes me a happier person knowing I'm supporting my grandmother in a way I know how. Every time someone sees it and asks, I get to tell her story and make sure that person knows to do their self exams and reg doctor visits. I could keep going on my tattoos, but I think you get the point. What an ignorant way to judge someone by writing this article. You have never stepped foot in our shoes, you don't know what someone is going through or why they got that tattoo.
YouUgly
Thu Feb 2 2012 15:28
you are a moron and you are NOTHING even remotely close to "beautiful". No man would ever want to gawk or approach you. You particularly SHOULD put some bumper stickers on you so maybe you'll get some attention.
Sarah
Thu Feb 2 2012 15:06
What an unfortunate piece of writing. To lump all women into a group high heel-wearing, gym-going morons whose main focus should be to prance around and look pretty is about as class-less as it gets.

I have multiple large tattoos. I also have a degree, a full-time job, a house I purchased on my own, I run a freelance design business and an award-winning organization that focuses on teaching teen girls to value and respect themselves.

My tattoos do, in fact, make me a happier person. Sitting under the needle for seven hours is a huge challenge and taught me a lot about my strength and determination. It's not a pretty pair of heels you simply slip on - a tattoo is a badge of honor.

"God knows the last thing this world needs is another generation of kids questioning their basic values and morals." Perhaps someone forgot to teach you about being condescending and judgmental.

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 15:05
Putting aside the topic of tattoos (I have them AND I am a woman), this article is just demeaning, period. You're letting us as females in on a "secret" that implies we are merely objects to men?! To the author, go out and explore society, and by all means, feel free to learn OTHER secrets in life that strengthen women instead of degrading them. LEARN so you can grow and find satisfaction in turning heads with your knowledge and not your new clothes.
La Deesse
Thu Feb 2 2012 14:59
Well Alli...

I don't know who this Lisa is, but she can definitely kiss my well-developed, self-affirmed grits!

As for the title of this not-so-eloquent bit of nonsense, I'll say this.... Do you honestly believe anyone who actually owns a Ferrari (literally or metaphorically speaking) would give to clicks as to what you think regarding what they do with it?! Honey I'll WALLPAPER this here beauty of mine from the moonroof to the wheels just cause it's Thursday and dare you to say boo about it!

And that bit about how a "classy woman" spends her time shopping and getting her nails and hair done... LOL... SWEETHEART PLEASE practice what you preach, cause judging by that shame of a photo, you've obviously fallen off that precious little wagon. In which case, by your own outlined definition, you seriously lack the very thing you seem to hold so dear.

Apparently, everybody and they're retarded newborn kitten's uncle can be a writer / editor these days (no diss to my fabulous femmes who obviously have the chops for such). SMH... God really does look after fools and babies.

Jessica
Thu Feb 2 2012 14:32
My first and foremost, I am offended as a woman. You are telling me that I have to dress nice and pamper myself just to be beautiful. That is completely untrue. I am comfortable in my own skin with the way that I am. Yes, I go to the gym; however, that action is for my health, not for my appearance. Your ignorance of the Woman's Rights Movement and what it stood for is disappointing to women everywhere. Because of this movement, women like you and I do not have to be objectified. In saying that physical appearance should be the center of a woman's world is saying that women should be objectified.

Furthermore, I am also offended as a woman with a tattoo. My tattoo is a form of art and I did it to represent what I am passionate about. It shows others the person that I am in a physical representation. I know people who do not necessarily approve of tattoos, and they are accepting of the fact that I have one and what it means to me as a person. It gives me a visual reminder of what I love in life and its permanent residence on my body will allow me never to forget it. I understand if you have a problem with people having tattoos, but it does not give you the right to tell me that I am not a physically beautiful person because of it. You state that I should improve my body and I'm here to tell you that I improved my body with a piece of artwork that represents me as a person.

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 14:25
Anonymous at 13:26

Godwin's law. Game over.

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:59
I do see my body as a temple, I completely agree with you there, and with viewing it as a temple, I simply choose to decorate the walls. This article has pushed the view of women and how a woman should act back decades; back to the days of what our only priority should be is making sure that we take care of ourselves in order to turn heads and please a man. There are many different views of beauty, and congratulations to you for what you think beautiful is, continue on with what you feel is best for you, but there are plenty that see it differently. There are many that view this form of body art as beautiful. Truth be told, I don't do things simple to attract a man and turn heads. I go to the gym, for myself and for my health, I change my hair, paint my nails, dress up, etc. to boost my own self-confidence and change things up a bit, and with all of that, I get tattoos because they have a meaning to me and I personally find them beautiful. If it turns a few heads, great, if not, I still feel better. I respect the fact that you have an opinion on the topic, but to classify all women with tattoos like you have is simply unfair. Maybe people get them for religious reasons. That is certainly not a new "popular" thing to do, it's been done for centuries throughout many countries all over the world. Would you argue that they did it to "fit in?" Or how about a parent that wants a reminder of a child that has passed, or a child wanting to remember their parent. Having a tattoo for them might be a way to remember their child/parent on a daily basis. Whether someone has a reason or not to get a tattoo, whether it has a personal meaning or not, it is their choice, it is what they find beautiful, and to say we are not classy, I would have to say you are far from correct.
I am a happier person for the ink that I do have, yes. I do not look back in regret nor do I ever plan to. When it comes to having children/grandchildren, I don't want them to look at anyone and judge them for what they choose to do to themselves, that everyone is an individual. While teaching them morals and values I would hope that I would be teaching them to not judge others, whether it be people with tattoos, people that dress differently from other cultures, or what have you. I hope that my children see things the way that I do, with little judgment; not by saying someone is who they are by simply by looking at them and instead by actually getting to know them.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:34
@ CALM DOWN, tatted ones...

Either you are the Editor in Chief that allowed her to publish the article, or your are her equally close-minded BFF coming to her rescue with comments like: "While there are a few respectful posts, one can reasonably conclude that most who have tattoos are immature, thin-skinned, classless idiots who have no manners."

OR you could just be a moron by saying things like:
"So keep your comments classy, whatever they are.

Oh wait, I forgot. You comments prove that you can't be. "

Well, whoever you are, you just proved that you too are a close-minded fool by stabbing yourself in your own back with a comment like that. Nice life you must have.

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:26
Hitler didn't have tattoos. Just saying.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:21
the comment below was posted by the Joe K.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:20
Wow...this article is absolutely absurd! Did you check yourself, before you decided to judge others for what they do to their bodies? Did someone with tattoos make fun of you? Or were you one of those clicky girls in high school that made fun of others who were different? Have you never met a person from a culture other than your own, or are you trapped in your own shallow world that entails judgement upon others?

It's funny that you are telling women what is classy, when clearly you have no clue! Classy = not making a public mockery of yourself by judging others. Check yourself.

Even though this is your opinion, you have done a fine job of telling the world how close-minded you are, which is the furthest thing from being classy.

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:20
I find it funny that the article was not directed towards any one of these people that posted. It was a generalization. Everyone is getting defensive over nothing. If anyone has anything to say do not hide and post as anonymous.
anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:13
I dont have any tattoos. So this is coming from the other side of the "spectrum".. I do however have a sister and brother in law that own a tattoo shop and have many tattoos. Alot of them are actually biblical... I dont think tattoos detract any beauty from a person. Anyone can have a pretty face or a nice body, but, not everyone can have a beautiful attitude or personality. My sister is beautiful! So are alot of people I know with tattoos. In fact, almost all my friends do. One of my friends even has most of his favorite bible verses tattooed on him as a constant reminder to him of God's love and acceptance. I choose not to get one because I honestly can't think of anything to get... I think if you want to be a writer it is important to have opinions. I also think its important to understand that other people have them too and you shouldnt throw yours onto others. Atleast without really opening your heart to the fact that the tattooed woman are individual people.. Because of the fact you added "God knows" and " the temple she has been blessed with as her body" in your article Im going to assume you are a believer... If so, Remember that God looks in our hearts.. I imagine if one of his children that has tattoos can help someone that doesnt know him with tattoos he would be happy... I mean, God became a man to be able to help us... If you are a believer don't automatically judge someone for theyre tattoos, you could either be missing out on an amazing person that can really teach you something, or you could be missing out on an opportunity to help someone that could benefit from meeting you...
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 13:05
Does straightening your hair, painting your nails, putting on lip gloss and pulling on obscenely tight pants challenge you? Do these things make you grow as a person? Your article says little about the irrelevance of tattoos and says more about your own, closed mind and depressing vanity. Get out of Buffalo and go see the world. This is sad.




log out