Top College News Subscribe to the Newsletter

Why Put a Bumper Sticker on a Ferrari?

Asst. News Editor

Published: Saturday, January 28, 2012

Updated: Monday, November 5, 2012 20:11

Lisa

Spectrum file photo

CLICK HERE TO READ COUNTERPOINT COLUMN

Do you want a tattoo and/or have one already?

View results

DISCLOSURE: THIS LINK WAS POSTED AT 4 p.m. ON 02/02/12


I get it. It's the 21st century. You're cool, you're rebellious, you're cutting edge, you have a point to prove, and you're a woman. Awesome.

Ladies, I know you're at least at the legal age of making your own decisions, but before you decide to get a tattoo, allow me to let you in on a little secret. A secret you may have not fully realized yet thus far in your life. What you must understand is, as women, we are – naturally – beautiful creatures.

Seriously, though. Your body literally has the ability to turn heads. Guys drool over us. We hold some serious power in our hands, because – as corny as this sounds – we hold the world's beauty.

But something girls seem to forget nowadays, or maybe have not been taught, is that women hold the world's class and elegance in their hands, as well. So what's more attractive than a girl with a nice body? I'll tell you what: a girl with class. Looks may not last, but class does. And so do tattoos.

An elegant woman does not vandalize the temple she has been blessed with as her body. She appreciates it. She flaunts it. She's not happy with it? She goes to the gym. She dresses it up in lavish, fun, trendy clothes, enjoying trips to the mall with her girlfriends. She accentuates her legs with high heels. She gets her nails done. She enjoys the finer things in life, all with the body she was blessed with.

But marking it up with ink? That's just not necessary.

I'm not here to say a girl should walk around flaunting her body like it's her job – that's just degrading. Instead of getting a tattoo, a more productive use of your time would be improving and appreciating the body you have been given, not permanently engraving it.

Can you get meaning out of a tattoo? Arguably. If you want to insert ink into your skin as a symbol for something greater than yourself, then maybe you are proving a point to yourself or the rest of the world.

But at the end of the day, are you really a happier person? Has this tattoo, for instance, caused you to learn something new about yourself? Has it challenged you? Has it led you to self-growth? Nothing comes out of getting a tattoo. You get a tattoo, and that's it. You do something productive, though, and you see results. That's a genuine, satisfying change in life. Not ink.

Invest your time, money, and effort into a gym membership, or yoga classes, or new clothes, or experimenting with different hairstyles if you're craving something new with your body, not a tattoo.

I promise, it will be a much more rewarding experience, and you won't find yourself in a rut when your future grandkids ask you what's up with the angel wings on your upper back as you're in the middle of giving them a life lesson on the importance of values and morals.

God knows the last thing this world needs is another generation of kids questioning their basic values and morals.

 

Email: lisa.khoury@ubspectrum.com

Recommended: Articles that may interest you

181 comments

Anonymous
Fri Feb 3 2012 17:29
This article is horrifically misogynist, heteronormative, gender-essentialist, and classist.

The author's opinion on tattoos is ultimately irrelevant (I do not have any tattoos, by the way).

The reason this article is problematic and insanely offensive is because of the way she speaks about women, women's bodies, how women "should" act/dress/look, and what "basic values and morals" really are. And it's classist. That's right. Talking about things being "classy" or not is (pretty obviously) laden with assumptions of class hierarchy and oppressive stereotypes about working class folks.

Basic values and morals:
Respect other folks' choices about what they do with THEIR bodies and what THEIR identities are for THEM.

"Woman" is a vast identity with no prescribed "essentials" - being "feminine" (whatever that means) is by no means requisite for womanhood, and wearing heels and getting one's nails done are by no means requisite for femininity. The entire idea of "improving" one's body connotes a long history of women starving themselves and hurting themselves in order to look a certain way. Does THAT lead to positive "self-growth"? Agency? Body positivity? No.

Do not essentialize or prescribe gender/gender norms. Women "hold the world's beauty" as much as men, or people of any other gender (yup, there are more than two, baby). Human bodies are beautiful whether they are tattooed or not. How can you encourage women to go through daily rituals of shaving, wearing heels, doing nails, but deny them the right to alter their body in other ways? "Permanence"? The only permanent problem I see here is women's perpetual shame, guilt, and self-loathing because they can't or don't want to adhere to the standards of femininity that are reinforced in this (MISOGYNIST) article.

Please consider taking a course in gender studies, or a least doing some light reading. Being a "woman" has nothing to do with making guys' heads turn.

Emily C
Fri Feb 3 2012 13:59
My definition of class is an open-minded, non-judgemental, confident, happy or atleast content with themself person. The world we live in is full of an amazingly ecclectic planet of people, and that's what makes it worth living in. Freedom of speech is neccessary in the journey of finding and accepting your true self. Just be aware of the fact that you're a YOUNG woman, and things change. As you grow your opinions of the world and the people around you change as well. Be careful what you say, and the judgements you put on people, fore they may very well come back around to bite you in the ass one day.
Anonymous
Fri Feb 3 2012 13:27
Ok this is definitely ridiculous and the most sexist thing I've ever read!!! Especially since your problem is women with tattoos and not men...its ok for men but not women??? Did you grow up in the middle ages??? and life tellinh people that out morals and values are messed up because we have ink?? That's ridiculous...what about the people who have memorial tattoos for friends or family that have passed away?? I have 3 tattoos each of which have a personal meaning to me..you have your right to your opinion but you don't have the right to be calling people out on their morals and values..who are you to tell me that my morals are compromised. What about your morals and values? Your telling women that we belong shopping in the mall and walking around in pretty dresses and high heels...what's your next pier about?? How women shouldn't were sweat pants or work outside the home???
Killian
Fri Feb 3 2012 13:10
Let's all be honest here. Who has ever seen a tattoo on a girl, or a guy, and been blown away by how classy it makes them look? I've never seen a tattoo, such as the Chinese character 'love' on a girl's wrist or the stars around a girl's ankle, and gone "wow," what a girl. Nor do I see such a thing and think that that's the girl I want to bring home to mom.

Isn't that ultimately what everyone wants, to be respected? When I see a girl that I know would make my family proud of me, it's the girl in a cute dress with a nice smile. Not the girl hurting in the back of a tattoo parlor while she gets a flower tattoo'd on her right thigh.

But wait a minute! Angelina Jolie and David Beckham have tattoos and they look sexy! Yeah...well, they're also extremely talented in their respective fields of entertainment. It's their job to put on a show.

Having a tattoo isn't all bad. I've met many people who have tattoos to remind them of a deceased loved one or about a life changing event. I can understand that, I've gone through life changing events that many would agree are warranting of a tattoo. I'm not the kind of person however that needs a reminder of those events on my sleeve. I'll never forget that person or that event and just having it in my mind is enough.

But for every person who has those tattoos that mean something very important to them as a person and rings true down to their very core, there are at least 5 others who get:
1)That dumb tribal band(didn't know you were part Native American bro. Oh you're not?...)
2)That Chinese character on their wrist when that don't speak the language nor have they ever even gone to China
3) A dragon tattoo. You have the heart of a dragon? Cool brah.

Unless you've had a life changing event or you need tattoos to remind you of things because you have short-term memory loss, I suggest everyone think long and hard about getting a tattoo. They're permanent and no matter how bad you may think it is to judge people, you will be judged for your tattoo. You will have a harder time getting that corporate job you want. You will be looked at differently. It's mostly because you didn't have the far sightedness to think about how pointless the tattoo you're about to get is.

This isn't a hate letter about tattoos. This is a hate letter about the idiot who gets a stupid tattoo which is a far bigger contingent than the person who has a real reason to get a tattoo.

Anonymous
Fri Feb 3 2012 12:14
You are a retard lady!!! The worst is the last line: God knows the last thing this world needs is another generation of kids questioning their basic values and morals.....really? Exactly how do tattoos do that?
Corvo
Fri Feb 3 2012 11:03
So, since so many people have been defending this article calling out us "tattoo wearing people", I will answer the call. I don't care about her view on people with tattoos. That's is totally up to her. As this piece is an "Opinion" piece, she is completely entitled to it.
Also, I don't really care what she looks like. I am not here to insult her looks. Just as I don't care about her view of tattoos, I certainly do not care what she looks like.
My issue is with her justification of her view. I read another comment on here: "if you people were this passionate about real problems, aka not someone's views on tattoos, the world would be a better place" Do you think the way women (young girls) view themselves in America is not a real problem? Girls starving themselves to be thin is not a problem? Girls who's self-esteem is based on how expensive their clothing is and what makeup they wear at age 10, this isn't a problem? Girls who care more about what they are going to wear to school and "dresses it up in lavish, fun, trendy clothes, enjoying trips to the mall with her girlfriends." rather then her education? These are not all problems? I guess the number of young kids, girls and boys alike, who are killing themselves because they are being bullied by shallow, narrow minded "rich kids" who do focus on this type of thing isn't a real problem either. And above everything else, I am raising a daughter in a country where all this is going on, where women like Lisa are telling younger girls to focus on this stuff, that isn't a real problem to me? In a country where companies spend billions of dollars to make sure girls grow up feeling the way Lisa feels, my job is to raise a girl strong enough to know her self worth is not based on mall shopping sprees and haircuts, but humble enough to not flaunt what she has in front of people who don't have the same means as her family? That's not a real problem? I should be focused on other things, right?
Also, I did read the other article about tattoos, the one that was for them. No where in that article does the author call out another group or question another group's moral value. How dare someone question another person's moral value and their ability to pass on those values to future generations based on the fact they have tattoos? That's a very bold and misguided statement to make. A good friend of mine is covered head to toe in tattoos and has reached an extremely high ranking position in the US Armed forces and puts his life in danger dealing one on one with some of the worst people you can image, all to defend YOUR freedom to speak your narrow mind. But I digress from that point since, again, my issue is not with Lisa's opinion of people with tattoos. It's her questioning of their moral value. How about all the NYC Firefighters who got tattooed after their friends and family died in 9/11 as a way to honor their memory? Firefighters have no moral value?

For all of you who are claiming we are all Anonymous, here is my email: Corvo411@gmail.com. Please try to defend yourself.
and for Lisa, you have my email. I look forward to seeing if you will respond.

Jeaneane
Fri Feb 3 2012 08:09
I don't believe her follow-up piece is sincere. She only cares about how she feels, and feels no remorse for the damage her remarks have caused. I hope that she does not have a future in journalism, as I fear that she will only perpetuate stereotypes and hatred.
Anonymous
Fri Feb 3 2012 01:02
Yikes!!! This piece tried so hard to come off empowering to women but failed miserably. In fact, it's degrading and sexist. The author's point of view is painfully naive and child-like, wandering on and out of an antiquated and obsolete ideal. I wince at the idea of the author reading this drivel five years from now. I am embarrassed to read it. Again, yikes.

I do, however, agree with the person who wrote "Hang in there, Lisa". I am being extremely critical, I know, but only of the piece and its point of view. I think this article is mistakenly written with the wrong tone. Instead of writing a "classy" post filled with valid arguments and statements supporting the opinion, the piece came off stuffy and judgmental. The sad thing is that I think there was a valid argument here but it just wasn't well made and again, the points were sexist. What a shame.

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 23:14
@CALM DOWN, basically you're arguing that it was acceptable for this person to insult every woman who wears a tattoo by implying that she's classless, but somehow wrong when tattoo wearers respond with their opinions of a personal nature about her. Yeah, no. As I said earlier, I don't have a tattoo myself, but this post is obnoxious and annoying in its implication that everyone should conform to this woman's standards, whatever they might be, and that if someone doesn't, she has no class. She has every right to her opinion, but if she's going to call millions of people classless, she should expect a reaction. In other words, it's the age-old rule: If you're going to dish it out, be prepared to take it. If you're going to dish it out and then whine when you get it back, GTFO.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 22:48
soo... charlize theron, gisele bundchen and heidi klum aren't elegant or attractive because they're tattooed??
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 22:19
Being a female tattoo artist, I'm pretty appalled by the ignorance of this piece. I tattoo all kinds of people, from young to old, and from trashy to elegant. The artwork an individual CHOOSES to put on their body has no effect on what makes that person who they are. I'm stopped all the time at stores, and annoying as it may be at times, its never been a negative experience. It's always people admiring the beautiful artwork I have chosen to put on my body. Before you decide to make uneducated remarks about a world you obviously know nothing about, perhaps you should do your homework. Most of the adult world today is tattooed. It has been an artform for centuries, and isn't going anywhere anytime soon. For most people I tattoo, the piece has a great significance to their life. So, how dare you criticize what a woman does with her vessel. It's hers do with what she wants. From another perspective its beauty. You may not see it that way, and that's okay, but someday you might realize its something deep and meaningful for those who make the decision to do it, that they will take with them to the grave. No its not for everybody, but well as it seems, it is for most.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 22:06
Is this serious? Because it totally reads like something out of The Onion. Are you sure you didn't accidentally cut and paste a column from "A Room of Jean's Own" and give it your byline? In any case, seriously intended or not, it's absurd. You don't like tattoos. Very well, then, don't get one. But are you really under the impression that anyone cares enough about your (rather dull, bourgeois) opinion to alter their own ideas about what they like and what suits them? Mind you, I say this sporting no tattoos whatsoever, and with no intention ever to get one. The difference between us, however, is that I can tolerate the fact that it's a big world with lots of different kinds of people in it, not all of whom are like me. I deeply hope you can get yourself used to that sooner rather than later, because otherwise you're going to continue to be making a fool of yourself for the foreseeable future.
lala
Thu Feb 2 2012 21:46
d24w6bsrhbeh9d.cloudfront.net/photo/2279854_460s.jpg

you are judgemental and superficial. I am so glad that you wouldn't talk to a "classless" woman like me.

Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 20:56
Lisa, I am willing to bet the day will come when you look back on what you've written and you'll cringe. You are very young and clearly have a lot to learn. I hope this experience will help you open your heart and mind to all the wonderful people and experiences life has to offer.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 20:25
If this was for a college class in Journalism, you get an F.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 20:05
Does it make you feel better about yourself by saying degrading things about other women? Maybe you should try that makeup stuff you were talking about that makes women all "classy." You are pretty much the antithesis of classy. I also find it pretty ironic that you of all people has decided what is pretty and what isn't.
Emily Stallings
Thu Feb 2 2012 20:00
I'm not going to say anything negative or attack the author's character because I think that's entirely inappropriate and unnecessary, however I do think it's counterproductive to encourage women to stick to antiquated activities to feel good about themselves while discouraging individuality. Yes, tattoos are permanent, and many people outgrow them, but that should be a personal decision that the individual feels good about, not something we as a society discourage and shame. I have one tattoo. It is not visible when I'm dressed, and it has a lot of meaning. It's a saying my mother used to say to me a lot, and when she passed away suddenly, I decided on a whim to get the tattoo. It's been nearly two years, and I absolutely do not regret my decision. And, yes, I plan on getting more. If someone thinks I am ugly because I have chosen to get a tattoo, that's fine. To be perfectly honest, I would expect for the same person to think others are ugly because of their makeup or weight or if they wear glasses. I personally believe that every woman is beautiful and that we should embrace differences, not chastise people for them. It's the same kind of prejudice that has existed through out human history, and I have yet to see a positive form of prejudice.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 18:58
I've belonged to a gym, taken yoga classes, and tried out new hairstyles. Let me tell you that none of those even come close to the pleasure I get out of a new tattoo. Before you judge me and other women, I suggest you get a tattoo or two, then you can judge. It's hard to believe a woman can be so sexist towards her own gender.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 18:41
I call sexism and objectification of women.
Anonymous
Thu Feb 2 2012 18:20
I have no idea where you did your research on this article but clearly you are misinformed, or simply bitter and angry at other women who have tattoos because a boyfriend left you for a tattooed girl.

I get the fact that you are entitled to your opinion but you counter it by stating:

"An elegant woman does not vandalize the temple she has been blessed with as her body. She appreciates it. She flaunts it. She's not happy with it? She goes to the gym. She dresses it up in lavish, fun, trendy clothes, enjoying trips to the mall with her girlfriends. She accentuates her legs with high heels. She gets her nails done. She enjoys the finer things in life, all with the body she was blessed with."

Then you validate you argument by saying this:

"But at the end of the day, are you really a happier person? Has this tattoo, for instance, caused you to learn something new about yourself? Has it challenged you? Has it led you to self-growth? Nothing comes out of getting a tattoo. You get a tattoo, and that's it. You do something productive, though, and you see results. That's a genuine, satisfying change in life. Not ink."

How does shopping, getting your nails done or buying trendy clothes make you happier? Does it truly make you? I'd love to see the statistics from your in depth research that you've done on the subject.

What you have done is judge and condone individuals who have them without bothering to really take the time to fully understand why. I think you need a history lesson as far as the origins of tattoos goes. Perhaps then you won't be so narrow minded.

I feel sorry for people like you who lead such a sheltered, closed off life. Anything that doesn't fit into your idea of normal, you attack. You are what's wrong with society.





log out